Trilogy - Episode 1 : Potiron is a witch....

Publié le par Potiron

Yes, last week, I decided to play at being a witch and to make mysterious mixes with colored powders......

Yes, I started to play with dyes !!!!!!!!!


At first I simply wanted to use Dylon dyes in my machine, but I didn't have any Dylon on hand, and the store where they sell it was exceptionally closed.....  At times I can be pretty impatient and this was one of those times, so I decided to throw myself into my stock of Procion MX dyes....

Yes, I had done a workshop with Susan Seagram ........... 5 years ago !!!!

So, here I am deep in my notes, my dyed fabrics, reviewing............

At first I wanted to make a sort of faded orangy color.... in order to make something precise..... you'll see what in Episode 2!!!!

So, I take my primary fushia, then my primary yellow (red + yellow = orange, no????) and I add a dash of brown, lacking black, to shut off a bit of the brightness of the colors......

Well, with Procion MX dyes, all tints are not equal!!!!!  meaning that at equal doses of color, we do not obtain an "equal" mix, and in this case, my orange became a beautiful --- fushia!!! Really the color was magnificent in itself, very deep thanks to the different mixes, but not what I had intended.  In speaking of results, I mean after rinsing, washing at 30°C then washing at 60°C.....


Well I wasn't about to let that deter me, so the next day, I started again.... Soaking in the soda ash, wringing, then another mix with more yellow and a dash of brown and yellow-orange - for good measure. You have to know that Procion dyes are "transparent", meaning that the colors underneath "reappear" through the new "layer"....

OK so, the second result is very nice as well, a reddish orangy, but very very bright.... sooooooo, I start yet again a third time, and I tell myself it will be the last, whatever the result!!!!!!!!!!
And I obtain a bright pumpkin orange, like jack o'lantern orange.............

Sublime color, very deep, pretty bright. Not the one wished for, but it will do, because really it's beautiful!!!!



And this is it  :



and here are the 3 steps of dyeing, (on the threads that tangle themselves through the different loads of wash). On top the first dyeing, at the bottom, the last.....




Stay tuned for Episode 2 !!!!!!!!

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article